Contact Us

Counseling Office Staff


Our SEMS Counseling Department is here to help students and parents with questions and concerns about class schedules, grades, and social and emotional issues. We have many resources available to families to support students during these dynamic middle school years.
For assistance, please contact:

Data Technician

  Mrs. Diana Cavanaugh
  diana.cavanaugh@smusd.org or 760.290.2811

Registrar & Records Requests 

  Mrs. Kathie Gillett
  kathie.gillett@smusd.org or 760.290.2810

Counselor, Student Last Name begins A – F

  Mrs. Celena Breining
  celena.breining@smusd.org

Counselor, Student Last Name begins G -M

  Mr. Nick Vega
  nicholas.vega@smusd.org

Counselor, Student Last Name begins N – Z

  Ms. Caroline O'Connor
  caroline.o'connor@smusd.org

School Social Worker

  Ms. Yesenia Diaz
  yesenia.diaz-chavez@smusd.org or 760.290.2836

School Psychologist

  Mrs. Tiffany Gerondale
  tiffany.gerondale@smusd.org or 760.290.2835

School Psychologist

  Ms. Dahlia Herrera
  dahlia.herrera@smusd.org or 760.290.2808

We encourage you to contact your student's counselor via email.
Counselors respond to messages as quickly as they are able, given the large volume of email, phone calls, and voice-mail messages received. Your patience is appreciated.

SEMS office hours: 7:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. 
Counseling Office Fax: 760.290.2832 or 760.290.2828